Random Music Note #1

Random Music Notes #1: I used to do this on email for a couple of friends, usually after driving and hearing something on the radio or CD that made me smile at how awesome it was and having to share it. That happened this evening driving home, and the creation of my  blog: Random Music Notes (with a nod to Rolling Stone Magazine) was born.

#1 is “Let it Bleed” what an awesome collection of music, now 42 years old, and still holds up. For the record, and all of those who know me well, know I am a rocker at heart so it should come as no surprise that I am a Stones guy when it comes to that eternal debate Beatles/Stones. Now don’t start the hating, I have ZERO derogatory comments on The Beatles, just prefer The Stones. So Let it Bleed, starts off with the possibly the greatest opening to any rock song of all time, and that would be the open to Gimme Shelter, who doesn’t smile when they hear it, and Merry Clayton’s background vocals, just killer. And speaking of killer, the album was released just 2 days before the infamous Altamont Concert (if you don’t know what I am talking about, google, or rent the film “Gimme Shelter). So I’m thinking this has to be one of the greatest albums of all-time, and I know it couldn’t have won any Grammy Awards, but I had to look just to see what did, you know for kicks and grins.

1969 Grammy for Best Album goes to: Glen Campbell for “By the Time I Get to Phoenix”, yeah that holds up, nice choice there NARAS. Want to know the 4 other nominations? Sure you do, Jose Feliciano/Feliciano; Richard Harris/A Tramp Shining; Simon & Garfunkel/Bookends; Beatles/Magical Mystery Tour. Ok two out of five isn’t bad, although I don’t think MMT was one of The Beatles strongest efforts. So now I had to look a little more, what won best song? I can tell you that Hey Jude was a nominee, right that had to win, truly one of the greatest songs ever, nope, the Grammy for Best Song goes to Bobby Russell for “Lil’ Green Apples”, yep definitely deserving over Jude. Good year for Mr. Russell though, he was also nominated for “Honey”. Hopefully Mr. Russell is retired some place in Maui just off of the residuals for those two! Speaking of songs, Let it Bleed had 9 of them, here are my top 5, Gimme Shelter, Let it Bleed, Midnight Rambler, Monkey Man, You Can’t Always Get What You Want. Monkey Man, not one of The Stones more well known songs, but just killer.

Thought I’d share these comments from Little Steven on The Stones (Steven being my rock guru) they are dead on, from Rolling Stone’s Top 100 Artists of All-Time: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/100-greatest-artists-of-all-time-19691231/the-rolling-stones-19691231

OK, that is it for Random Music Notes #1, hope you liked it. Hope I get inspired to write some more in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

