Lost in the Flood

I’m kicking myself right now. I’ve debated with myself over the years what Bruce song is the best live (no side ever wins) Backstreets, Jungleland, Prove it All Night (especially ’78 version) Point Blank, She’s the One, a couple of others make the list. But after what I just heard on E Street Radio, there is an undisputed winner now.

But of course a story first. Lost in the Flood, off of “Greetings from Asbury Park” is unquestionably one of my all-time favorite songs, and one that is rarely played live. In fact from the summer of ’78 to ’99 it was never played live and since then it has made some setlists sporadically. I had the good fortune to be at one of those shows, Sacramento in the spring of ’08, and truly felt blessed that I had heard it live…finally. Cut to fall of ’09, Bruce had been playing complete albums as the tour went on, I had the good fortune to have seen Born to Run, Darkness, The Wild, The Innocent and The E Street Shuffle, and The River all played in their entirety. I had also seen about 15 shows around the country and in Spain on this tour, and then they announced that the final show of the tour, 11/22/09 in Buffalo would feature in its entirety, “Greetings from Asbury Park” for the first time. I had spent most of that fall in NYC for work, but would be in LA that week, and the thought of that flight to Buffalo in the middle of the winter wasn’t very appetizing to me, so for some reason I passed and didn’t attend.

Well right now E Street Radio is playing that show live, and I happened to be in the car to hear “Lost in the Flood” and that is why I am kicking myself. The power and intensity of Bruce and the band is in full force this night and on this song. I was parked in front of my house singing at the top of my lungs, volume pushed to the limit and beating the steering wheel in my Mighty Max imitation…..which left no doubt, Lost in the Flood has won the debate, the greatest Bruce song live.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

